Daily Archives: September 17th, 2013

Maybe not the mommy award today

It may not have been my best work today..
We had a long day of academics where I seemed to have spent more time with my second and sixth graders than my first and third graders. When I finally sat down to work with my daughter on reading and phonics, she gave me quite the attitude. When she reads aloud, she speaks very quietly or puts her hand over her mouth or pretends like she’s tired, etc. I also get the phrase, “I can’t” on many occasions. I found myself feeling angry towards her, because I knew she could easily read the story. It’s more of her wanting to be lazy which doesn’t work for me. I even brought her to tears when I corrected her behavior. I’m not sure she thought that I hung the moon during her lesson, but the fact is that reading is a challenging skill to learn. It takes lots of practice which is what I’m forcing her to do, like it or not.
Another mommy note-I corrected my first grader for not finishing his math drill worksheet. Come to find out he was running a fever-ugh. Yes, not one of my more stellar days teaching.
I’m seeing double now from fatigue as I type, so I must sleep.

20130917-005439.jpg

20130917-005527.jpg

 

20130917-005516.jpg