Testing

Today involved lots of testing in various subjects: math, science, grammar, geography. Computer lessons were studied along with math tutorials and problems. Tomorrow will be more of the same but with different subjects. Not all homeschoolers believe in the value of administering tests to young children, but for my kids, tests and their performances on tests are motivating factors.
This evening I hit the gym in between activities before we made a flying trip to one of our local Barnes and Nobles bookstores. My second son wanted to go because he had a gift card from there. My oldest son purchased the new Riordan book, “House of Hades”, and I ended up buying a book by Deepak Chopra on ayurvedics. I’ve become interested in learning more about this philosophy since people I know have seen positive results from adhering to these standards.
I’m tired tonight, and I’m really tired of cooking! I made taco salad for dinner and a pot of chili for tomorrow while the kids watched “The Great Pumpkin”. I love Charlie Brown. Not surprisingly, neither dish turned out well. Maybe this new book I bought can help me be a better cook-ha!

20131011-005837.jpg

20131011-005916.jpg

20131011-005901.jpg

20131011-005831.jpg

20131011-005855.jpg

20131011-005935.jpg

20131011-005848.jpg

20131011-005948.jpg

20131011-005843.jpg

20131011-005929.jpg

20131011-005908.jpg

20131011-005922.jpg

3 responses

  1. You are certainly tenacious. Do not give up on your cooking. Someday, you will hit paydirt – find your groove and list of recipes that will work for you. At least your family eats it and your kids certainly look healthy. LOL.

  2. I’ve heard quite a lot of backlash about testing in the short time that we have been homeschooling. I am a test loving person myself so I am not exactly sure what the debate is about – but what kind of testing do you use? Do you use a similar model to what they do on the achievement tests or do you create your own?

    I am also a Charlie Brown fan. I used to watch a Charlie Brown Christmas every year.. Classic.

    1. Hello.

      I use a variety of tests off and on:

      Calvert sells a “test series” that you can buy for whatever subjects you are interested in testing. I buy these, because the answer keys are provided. Calvert also offers “ATS” which includes tests they provide. However, the answer keys are not provided, and you send the tests into the counselors to be graded. I have used ATS for several years but opted for the test series at home this year mainly for convenience for me and the cost-savings aspect.

      -Sometimes, I print out math drill worksheets.

      -I give my kids standardized tests via IOWA testing through BJU press. I can give this at home and get results very quickly.

      Those are really my main testing examples. I wouldn’t get too caught up in what others believe on testing. You just do what is right for your particular child. Some children respond well to testing. For others, it may not be a good idea at an early age. What is likely to happen, however, is that one day your children will need to know good test taking skills if they pursue higher education unless something drastically changes regarding college admissions, SATs and so forth. I also think for my own children there are many benefits to learning good testing-taking skills. Again, it just works for my kids:)

      All the best.
      Joy

Leave a comment