Daily Archives: October 31st, 2013

Returning to the practice of medicine

My husband and I have been discussing our future a bit more including whether or not I will return to practicing medicine. In just a few short years, I know that I’ll wake up and the last child will be all grown up. The years of homeschooling (assuming that I make it through high school) will come to an end, and my husband and I will find ourselves empty-nesters. Wow. That idea seems so far away, but I appreciate that it’s really not. So, our discussion of my career, or lack thereof at present, has been weighing on my mind. Do I eventually want to return to the workforce? If so, what would that look like? Would I wait until number 4 child is waving good-bye as he leaves for college, or should I begin sooner? It’s possible that me working part-time initially would benefit my kids. They could help in the office or travel with me learning practical business skills. Theoretically, high schoolers should be doing the majority of their academic work independently, right? So, maybe I won’t be needed as much as I am now. All questions I have no answers to, but I did somewhat get the ball rolling this week after I contacted my state medical licensing board regarding reinstatement. So, if you know someone who’d like to hire a former flight surgeon, middle-age, homeschooling mother of 4, please give them my number:)

This is me below dressed in my scrubs a few years ago. No, I wasn’t seeing patients at the time. I was doing story hour at the library.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mischief night

I spent some time this afternoon working in the yard after studies. I love yard work. There is something very therapeutic about it. I had planned to cover more academics this evening, but those plans were interrupted by my kids preparing for mischief night. Our neighborhood trees tend to get rolled with toilet paper by teenagers, so my kids wanted to be ready for them. They dressed in all black, planted themselves in the yard, and had water guns to spray the potential intruders. Since it’s now bedtime for my children, I’ve been given instructions to be on the look-out for the rollers.

Tomorrow is Halloween, so that means dress-up and candy for my crew. Hopefully, I can have a productive academic day in the midst of the excitement.

20131030-223259.jpg

20131030-223306.jpg

20131030-223311.jpg

20131030-223318.jpg

20131030-223326.jpg

20131030-223333.jpg

20131030-223337.jpg

20131030-223345.jpg