Daily Archives: April 26th, 2012

“Middle School Years” by Michelle Hernandez

http://www.amazon.com/Middle-School-Years-Achieving-Education/dp/0446675628/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1335450247&sr=8-1

Just ordered this book from Amazon.  I plan to speed read this book over the next bit of time.  Feel like I need better insight into these very important years coming up for our oldest.

“Are the French outdoing Americans at Parenting?”-NPR News..

http://www.npr.org/2012/02/14/146867488/are-the-french-outdoing-americans-at-parenting

Assuming this article to be accurate, I love the fact that French parents emphasize the importance of themselves having “me time”.  Big fan of that idea, especially as a homeschooler.  You can become so consumed in this “job” of homeschooling that you forget the importance of doing something for yourself.  That’s not selfishness.  That’s vital refreshment.

Educating myself and falling in love with anything French

I’m on this kick right now of really exposing myself and family to the French language and culture.
I was brainstorming today on how to make that happen and found myself speaking with someone at the French Embassy in D.C. The lovely lady from the embassy directed me to the “Federation of Alliances Francises”. I didn’t know anything about this organization until today, but it looks very interesting. I’m hoping to find some sort of immersion program or activities over the summer for the kids. It appears they have chapters in many of our major cities. Will see if they can offer some advice to this nutty homeshooler.

http://www.afusa.org

20120426-003804.jpg