Daily Archives: March 21st, 2013

What type of student Harvard is looking for-WJS video

http://live.wsj.com/video/what-harvard-looks-for-in-a-student/76EC5710-3B40-4C0A-99FB-2014E30991BF.html?mod=WSJ_article_outbrain&obref=obnetwork#!76EC5710-3B40-4C0A-99FB-2014E30991BF

..shared by a girlfriend

Forgot the other half of my body in the pampering process

Tonight was spent toasting to myself a bit.  I taught my last class at Excelsior, today, so I celebrated a little tonight by pampering myself.  I wasn’t celebrating because I’m glad to be finished.  Quite the contrary, I have loved our family being a part of this local homeschooling community, and so it’s bittersweet for me to say good-bye to that.  But, I was celebrating because I feel like the goal that my 2 girlfriends and I set out to do was achieved, and that’s a great feeling.  Excelsior has been an almost 4 year project for us, so I decided to do one of those “I love me” nights and relax.

So, here’s what I did-it was really extravagant (wink). I tried to take a 30 minute nap. That didn’t work at all, likely because my body is not used to that kind of activity.  When that didn’t work, I got up and decided to shower and work on my nails that were screaming, “we need attention!” I realized after I had finished showering that I’d forgotten to shave one side of my body, so I had to get back into the shower and finish that job. I probably forgot because shaving my legs is such an infrequent occurrence for me. Then, I starting working on my nails, another infrequent thing I do.  How delightful that my nails appear to be splitting and there may be some fungus action going on so that’s got to be addressed-exactly what every homeschooling mom with no free time needs! This was seen after I’d taken off the 3 or 4 layers of nail polish that had been there probably since New Year’s. When I eventually got back downstairs, my husband asked me what’s for dinner to which I replied, “I don’t know, what is for dinner? I’m taking the night off.” He gets the nuttiness, so he made dinner.  I’ve no idea what they ate.  I ate chips, Girl Scout cookies, crackers and cheese, and had a cup of coffee while watching reruns of Idol. There was no read-aloud time for us. I assume the kids got into their beds eventually, because I just didn’t want to get off of the couch. Maybe not the picture of a superstar mom, but we all need this.

Now, how’s that sound for a pampering “I love me” night?  That was my break-good stuff, I know. Reality will rear its head in the morning:)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA