Daily Archives: February 17th, 2014

NYT article on common core mess

Shared by a girlfriend..

Second floor check

Smilebox_2583955741 Smilebox_2583955759

We’ve had a weekend full of sports, a birthday party, and a fever run by my youngest son. I had set a goal for this weekend to clean my house. I don’t know why but the tidiness or lack thereof affects my mood and therefore affects my teaching. I hate to wake up in the morning to disorganization or filth. Even when the house has the appearance of being in order, I still know when it’s really not clean. I can only keep teaching in that type of environment for so long before I have to stop almost everything to clean toilets and remove dust balls. The dust that I removed with a swiffer from under our bed tonight almost made me gag. I finally accomplished cleaning the second floor of the house this evening. Now I have the first floor to go. Our kitchen area hasn’t been mopped in over a month, just a tad embarrassing. People will suggest to me periodically that I should hire a cleaning service to help me. But I’m reluctant to do that for a few reasons. One is I’d really need a service about every day, not every other week. And then there’s the expense. Those dollar signs add up to books I might need for teaching, so I just can’t justify paying someone else when both my kids and I can clean. And I certainly cannot work around someone else’s schedule. I can barely keep up with my own. No, I just need to clone myself as likely do so many other moms.
Lessons now need to be prepped, but I’m exhausted for now. Hoping to start early with a fresh cup of coffee and a clearer head. My daughter’s extracurricular activities are weighing heavily on my mind at present. She had a terrible gymnastics meet today, so I’m still questioning whether she’s plugged into what’s best for her. Always something to meditate on. I need quiet time, but let me just end by saying how much I enjoyed driving the fast go-carts. They should sell those and the track to homeschoolers. Great way to get rid of some stress-Now I’m thinking my second careers will include taxi and NASCAR driving.

20140217-014416.jpg

20140217-014448.jpg

20140217-014502.jpg

20140217-014551.jpg

20140217-014611.jpg

20140217-014624.jpg

20140217-014636.jpg