Daily Archives: March 2nd, 2012

Does it matter where your child goes to college? Food for thought..

http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2009/01/26/what-does-an-ivy-league-degree-get-you/

Should you hire a consultant for your student’s college admissions process?

Our oldest son will enter fifth grade next year.  For me, that’s where things get a big more serious.  Maybe you think that’s too young to be concerned about college or life after high school, but I don’t.  Some people spend large sums of money on these types of consultants.  So, in my neuroses, I read interesting books like “A is for Admission” by Michelle Hernandez.  Her book discusses admission to the Ivies, the formula, etc.  Her site address is found below.  I’ll be reading her other books shortly so will let you know what I learn:)

http://www.hernandezcollegeconsulting.com/

My house was so messy that the cops thought the house had been ransacked!

True story..

A few weeks back I got a call from our alarm company saying that the alarm was going off.  At my request, they sent out the local police to investigate.  Later, I received another call saying that the police did, in fact, believe there to have been a break-in.  I rushed home to see what the damage was.  Upon arrival, the police pointed out the various areas they believed the robbers to have been meddling.  There were many drawers and doors open.  I paused, then embarrassingly admitted to them that we had not been robbed, that the mess they were seeing was caused simply by us  not having picked up after ourselves.  They had a good laugh, but I was so embarrassed!

My house isn’t always that messy.  Thankfully, we have a second laundry room upstairs so you don’t see all of the dirty clothes.  I do try to keep everything clean, but sometimes I just don’t have the energy left at the end of the day to address it.  Now, where’s that cloning machine?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.