Daily Archives: March 16th, 2012

Capture their childhood with a fine portrait

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One goal of mine was to have a keepsake portrait of each of our children.  I’ve had the first 2 kids’ pictures made.  We just flew to Mississippi to have our daughter’s picture taken, so we’re waiting to see the finished product.  Next year, our youngest son will be photographed.

The photographers I use are Gary and Marion Silber in Jackson, MS.  They do beautiful work.  The portraits are not cheap, but they are timeless so they are worth the investment.  Tell them I recommended you if you go in for a visit-I could use a discount on the last one!

http://www.marionandsilber.com/Marion_and_Silber_Website/Welcome.html

 

The writing on the wall (or chair)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Our youngest son wrote on our living room wall a couple of years ago with a green magic marker.  He, then, proceeded to draw circles and lines on a brand new Ethan Allen chair with the same marker.  That was fun:(

We’ve explained to him that we’d rather he write on paper instead of the walls or furniture with the exception being our chalkboard wall. Last night he added some caveman-type drawings to his bedroom wall.  So, I asked him why he wrote on the wall, and he proceeded to tell me about his drawings.  He was really proud of them.  Then, I mentioned the part about not drawing on the walls and furniture vs drawing on paper.  He looked a little bit like the deer in the headlights after he processed what I said, so I knew at that moment there was no malicious intent.  He was really proud of what he had done, and I have to admit, I really like the drawings, too.  I may not ever paint over them.  That being said, here’s hoping that the “please don’t write on the walls and furniture” thought gets accessed from his memory next time.