Falling asleep during the lax tournament

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We spent the day on the lax fields.  My son’s team has a lot of athletic talent.  They won all 3 games which is always nice.

The bottom 3 kids and I watched the second and third games from inside of the Yukon.  We were able to park pretty close to the fields so that I could watch the games while I kept them out of the weather and let them watch a movie.  Apparently, I fell asleep in the car while we were sitting there because I woke up with that uncomfortable neck pain you feel after sitting in an unusual position.  A small amount of drool was on the side of my face.  That’s when you know you’re really tired.  Thankfully, I had locked the doors and had the car alarm on!

The rest of the evening was spent doing more needed clothes shopping and hitting the craft store for supplies.  We ate at Chick-Fil-E for lunch and Burger King for dinner.  Are you cringing?  I know, the grease and the fat and the chemicals, but it was just one of those crazy days.  I must admit though, I love those old-fashioned milkshakes and fast food french fries.

During my time sitting there watching the games (you know, when I wasn’t asleep), I was thinking to myself how much money and time gets spent on athletics for these young kids.  Why is that?  Do we honestly think that most of these kids will play college or go pro?  Statistics would appear to not be in their favor.  There are these places that train your kid to be a better athlete by working on strength, speed, and agility and charge a lot of money for their services.   Personal trainers are hired.  Diet is manipulated.  Friends turn into enemies over competition between their children.

Athletics for our kids provide a variety of positives:  competition, learning to play on a team, confidence boosting, physical activity, and, you know, the “socialization”.  My kids love this environment so I assume we’ll proceed as long as it benefits them, and they enjoy it.  My guess is that they’re not going to play in the NBA, but I do believe these activities will help them in pursuing their career paths and shaping their character.

Leave a comment